Mays Lane

Posted: September 12, 2010 by Tawar in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

I recently have taken up an interest in graffiti and in my last blog I described how it has been much more appealing than traditional art and I’m growing to understand why.

I recently took a short student stencil art course at Pine Street Creative Arts Centre in Darlington. The most appealing thing about it was there was no prerequisite to have any formal education in art. Then coming out of the short course I found the whole experience a  very open and welcoming one.

I ventured out to the very unique and famous Mays Lane in St Peters to check out the graffiti that is up there (for now anyway)

The moment you turn right to walk off the station there is graffiti everywhere.

Outside St Peters Station

Then the moment I walked into Mays Lane I felt like I stepped into this massively warped tunnel of graffiti. The art was overlapping and ranged from elaborate tagging in amazing fonts to a mix of sculptured graffiti!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And as usual there some graffers out there working on a piece

Graffers at work

So how it works down at Mays Lane is the panels on the buildings are assigned to each commissoned artist. These artist can be basically any graffer out there who applies with very little restrictions. You have graffers from all walks of life come and do some work on the panels.

One of the commissioned panels

Another commissioned panel

This has got to be the most appealing aspect about graffiti. The non-elitst and permeable foundations it is built on.

To hear more about the graffiti scene in more depth check out my interview with graffer Chris Tamm talking about how he got into graffiti, the developments over his 25 years of experience and where its headed!

Watch out for my next blog, I discuss the interesting path graffiti has taken by being installed in galleries!

But until then what’s your take on graffiti?

Does it appeal to you?

Post up any pictures of graffiti you’ve taken. Would love to see a better documentation of this amazing but sadly permeable art!

Share

Comments
  1. […] But this process of commodification works in other ways such as  artists being commissioned to do work on buildings or walls like I wrote in my previous blog. […]

Leave a Reply

